Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) What is Your Favorite Line? (Read 23750 times)
Jim_Shaffer
Ex Member

What is Your Favorite Line?
06/24/03 at 21:51:06
Quote Print Post  
I know I have asked this before but its a new season and I can't remember what everyone said.

I have been using TRILENE big game and hate it,
also not a big fan of FIRELINE on baitcasters or knot strength. And I have used RAPALA with little success.

What works for you and why do you like it?

IP Logged

gotfive
Ex Member

Re: What is Your Favorite Line?
Reply #1 - 06/24/03 at 23:09:57
Quote Print Post  
I have tried them all.  From superlines, spiderlines, firelines, docklines, kite string, weedeater string, dental floss, you name it I have tried it.  I have concluded that I am sticking to my old school roots.  I like mono.  It gets it done for me.  I have been using Bass Pro Shops Excel in the CLear BLue  for about five years and it has performed as well as anything else.  It is value priced, ties good knots, abrasion resistant, and best of all, I can SEE it on the water.  Old age is the pits.
KH

IP Logged

Rwfaz
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 06/25/03 at 00:05:51
Quote Print Post  
My current favourites are one of three basic lines:

6-8lb Maxima Ultragreen, very limp and great for skipping.

6-8lb Maxima Chameleon, very abrasion resistant for draggin stuff around.

10lb Silver Thread Excaliber for crankbaits, spinnerbaits etc.

I am experimenting with two different heavy lines for pitching, flipping in heavy cover:

40lb Berkley Gorilla Braid on a baitcaster. (40lb to get some thickness on the spool) - I like it but it still catches on itself now and then.

25lb Gamakatsu G-Power, I have not used it for long but I quite like it.