Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) Question about Lake Washington... (Read 12214 times)
The_Rev.
Ex Member

Question about Lake Washington...
09/30/08 at 18:26:45
Quote Print Post  
I've been fishing Lake Washington every monday for 15 years now - and I am stumped!  So let me paint you a picture and let me know what you think...

Fall usually means the fish are spread out in many depths.  Sure enough, in the past two weeks I have caught them along the shore out to 40 feet deep.  Typically the perch start to ball up and move out (following the bait fish) and the bass follow them.  Well, sure enough the perch are starting to ball up in small schools BUT they are still holding to the weed edges in 20 feet. (Caught a million of them!)  And here's the mystery - I can't find a large smallmouth ANYWHERE!  I'm catching dink after dink (less than 2 pounds) until I'm going crazy!

Oh sure, everytime I go out, the darn North wind is blowing (which typically slows the catching down), but apparently the dinks don't seem to understand that this fall.  I've hit every shallow, medium, and deep hole (secret holes) I know of and can't find a decent fish.  So where did they go?

1) I have always known that the larger bass show up in the shallows first in the spring, and the small ones follow, and have always assumed the large fish were the first to go out deeper in the fall, (again small fish following).  So how do I explain the small guys being caught in the 40 foot level already.  Do you think the big guys went deeper or are just tight mouthed n the shallows?

2)  Which begs another question: Is it possible that only the big fish are tight mouthed during the North wind times, and the small fish aren't?  That has never been my experience up to now!  When the fish get lock jaw, don't ALL the fish get lock jaw?