Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) Truck advice? (Read 4400 times)
StuK
WBC Member

Lund Boats

Truck advice?
11/04/04 at 05:35:43
Quote Print Post  
OK, I hope this is an OK topic and that it doesn't start a brand battle, but I'd like to ask your advice on trucks for pullling a boat.

I might (I repeat might) be in the market sometime in the next 6 months to buy a used truck that  I would intend to use for carrying a camper and pulling a boat. (The boat will probably not come until early 2006.) I would probably not have more than $10,000 to spend on the truck.

I am guessing that I would need a 3/4 ton and I would want an extended cab (for the family) or a crew cab, and would prefer a full size bed. I've heard that you can find big blocks for a decent price if you are willing to put up with the low gas milage. I would not use the truck for commuting or running around town, only hauling, camping and pulling a boat.

I am far from an expert on trucks, and you guys pull boats with them all/ most of the year. I'd appreciate any opinions/tips you are willing to throw out for me.

Ex-Prez, I've read your post about your Suburban, but I think it'll be long gone before I have the money and I'd really like to get a truck with a bed.

Thanks!
Stu

LUND - The Ultimate Fishing Experience

IP Logged

Sarge
Ex Member

Re: Truck advice?
Reply #1 - 11/04/04 at 05:53:47
Quote Print Post  
Hey Stu,

Ya, no doubt about it, but you are going to start a brand war!!!  Grin

For the options you are looking for, you should be able to find a nice F250 in the 1995-1998 range with 50-80K miles on it. There are still some steals out there if you find a guy who hasn't driven his truck too much. Look for one without a tow package. Those are the cherry ones because they haven't towed anything!

Chris

IP Logged

Jim_Shaffer
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 11/04/04 at 07:09:13
Quote Print Post