Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) Tournament Ethics (Read 9057 times)
Mike_W
Ex Member

Tournament Ethics
05/27/04 at 00:58:38
Quote Print Post  
I am fairly new to the tourney thing and do not know how it all works yet. I would like to ask a question to clarify something. I would hate to say something and have ito out of line or incorrect.

How far should you stay from other anglers during a tournament?

I would say that if a team is fishing a small flat, shore line, reed bed, point, or other obvious structure it is rude and not right to cut in.

The reason I ask is that it happend twice to me this weekend. I kept getting a boat drifting by (as close as 20 yards). They claim that the wind was pushing them and they could not fight it. I will admit that the wind was very strong. After they passed they  would fire up the big motor and head up wind to drift by again. I am not stupid and knew what was going on. I held my ground and kept my boat in one place.

The other time it happend was in strong currnet. I was holding in strong current casting into a wirl pool. A boat came in from gehind me and went in front of me. Then let the current push them down into me. I had to move so they would not hit me. We had to stop fishing and wiat for them to drift out of our target area. They came within feet of us. My wife is a little calmer then I was and she tried to explain that they may not have known that the current was so strong and were caught by suprise. I say BS becasue they continued to fish while they drifted threw our hole. If it truely were a accident they should have stopped fishing till they were clear.

I would like to know how you guys hadle this type of thing. I am not shy and can get very worked up when it comes to people taking advantage of others. This is a very friendly club and I don't think that others intentially do this. I would just like to know what you all think.