Normal Topic Should I set the hook yet?  How 'bout now? (Read 3410 times)
Dipsnort
Ex Member

Should I set the hook yet?  How 'bout now?
05/13/05 at 20:22:00
Quote Print Post  
I'm discovering the joy of fishing plastics which is obviously a whole different game from my traditional  crankbait extravaganza where there is no question when to set the hook - NOW!

So, I can see that the "feel" of the bite on plastics is largely dependant on the size of the fish.  The little guys seem to peck several times in succession with exhuberance, and the big ones (I guess) take the whole thing in their mouth in one fell swoop.  I'm not really sure what the medium-sized ones do (to me a medium-sized bass is 10-14", but then I'm still a rookie).  Often times I get "bit" similar to the way the little guys bite, except with less agression.

So, if it doesn't appear to be a tiny fish, do I set the hook at the first feel?  Do I wait until I get about the third feel (to make sure they have the whole bait in their mouth)?  What advice do you experts have on the subject?

By the way, I know to set the hook when my line is moving to the side.  I didn't learn this until a couple of weeks ago, but after that happened when I was fishing with Russ and he wondered why I didn't strike, I pretty much got the message on that one. Wink

IP Logged

Rob M.
Ex Member

Re: Should I set the hook yet?  How 'bout now?
Reply #1 - 05/13/05 at 20:30:12
Quote Print Post